A Saturday Smorgasbord Of Stories I Kind Of Liked

I’ve been learning about Ayn Rand lately, not reading her books, but learning about her. I remember as a teenager friends telling me I should read the Fountainhead and for some reason I was never that interested in it based on what I heard about it. The more I learn, the more it makes me laugh that some on the Right are embracing her ideas so vigorously.  Amy Sullivan at Swampland has this interesting piece about this phenomenon.

I came across this a while ago at Blacks4Barack, it has 244 accomplishments of President Barack Obama in categories.

I never understand why Republicans think that crying in the media about being picked on helps them somehow. They look like children.

Booman has a great post about minority voter suppression and how Republicans hate those groups, the hate part was mine!

Jim Wright over at Stonekettle Station has a nice piece about old Newt Gingrich’s entry into the GOP horse race, giddyup!

Donald Trump wasn’t very fond of this story at the New York Times and went on CNBC to whine about it, Oliver Willis has the video.

Sometimes you just gotta love Stephen Colbert, he’s forming his own “Colbert Super PAC”. TPM has the full story with video, pretty cool stunt Stephen.

My Week As Told Through iPhone Photos

I had one of those weeks that was jam packed with stuff. Some it it was captured in photos on my handy iPhone 4 – Verizon, Ding!

These first two photos are from last weekends Parade and Protest in Benton Harbor. One new, one I’ve posted before.

The next day was Mother’s Day and we visited my wife’s mother. My granddaughter was there too and enjoyed a second cake for her 1st birthday.

While at her great grandma’s house, my little granddaughter played with some antique toys, they don’t make them like they used to…with long strings on them. :)

And just to show how cool my wife’s family is, this is a photo of a banner hanging from her Mom’s front porch.

Later in the week, I went to my granddaughters house so her dad could work on my car. I had to watch her while he did it. My wife when seeing the pictures said “you didn’t let her play with the remote control for the TV, did you?”. By the time she was done with it, the TV was blue screen. Oops! I sent a couple of texts to her parents this morning with photos saying “Why the TV doesn’t work! Sorry”.

This is her sitting in her stroller watching her dad fix my car, I think she was raising her hand to ask a question. She’s 1 years old, you know?

And last, but not least, my wife spent the week getting our pond and waterfall up and running. We have winters in Michigan, you know? My wife also collects gnomes and they populate our 5 acres pretty thoroughly, I’m sure you will see them again.

All Photos by Extreme Liberal