Extreme Liberal's Blog

Where Liberalism Is Alive and Well!

Arizona – Where Racism Is Alive and Well! (Updated)

I’ve been to Arizona a couple of times, both of them on trips to see the beautiful landscape and of course, the Grand Canyon. My wife and I took a very cool helicopter ride over the canyon, thanks to some wonderful friends who gave it as a wedding present. I think the only state I’ve been to that I think is prettier is Utah, Bryce Canyon and Zion are magical. I have to say that even though I love the visuals in Arizona, I’m not sure I want to visit there again. The blatant racism that is bubbling to the surface there is making me re-think whether it is a state worth visiting. I have a very good friend who lives in Phoenix, he reads this blog sometimes, and I’m sure glad that at least one person in Arizona isn’t racist. I’ve been wanting to go and visit him, but I might have to make him meet me on the Utah border because I don’t think I can stand the stench in Arizona.

The latest odors emanating from the state come from a city councilman Steve Blair who has a radio show on a Fox-owned station. I’ll let karoli from Crooks and Liars fill you in on the idiocy...

This mural is painted on the side of an elementary school in Prescott, Arizona. Recently completed, it features the faces of children who attend the school, but not everyone is pleased with the outcome.

Prescott City Councilman Steve Blair, who also has a daily radio show on Fox News-owned radio station KYCA-1490-AM wants the mural taken down completely. He claims it depicts an agenda, an indoctrination of public school children. Somehow I do not think this has much to do with indoctrination nor do I think he really cares much about public schools. Especially public schools with brown children in them.

Instead of removing it, the school principal asked the artists to lighten the faces of the children in the picture. This request follows harassment of those same artists by drive-by wingers flinging racial epithets at them while they were painting it. Welcome to Arizona.

A little explanation of what the mural is all about comes from Wonkette…

And these children, for the past several months as this happy mural encouraging “green transportation” was being painted by local artists, have been treated to the city of Prescott’s finest citizens driving by and yelling “Nigger” and “Spic” at this school wall painted with pictures of the children who attend the school. And this has been encouraged by a city councilman, Steve Blair, who uses his local radio talk show to rile up these people and demand the mural be destroyed.

Apparently this elected city councilman has a history of bigotry and hatred, more from Crooks and Liars

A few more gems from City Councilman Limbaugh wannabe Blair:

“I’m not a racist by any stretch of the imagination, but whenever people start talking about diversity, it’s a word I can’t stand.” Daily Courier

“I will tell you depicting a black guy in the middle of that mural, based upon who’s President of the United States today …” Daily Courier

“To depict the biggest picture on the building as a Black person, I would have to ask the question: Why?” AZCentral.com

Why depict a black person on the building? Why not, you fucking idiot? The only reason those words could possibly come out of his mouth is because he is a fucking racist. I’m sorry, but these assholes have to be called what they are. Sorry about the colorful language but those fuckers piss me off.

(Update) Steve Blair was fired from his radio gig, no more broadcasting of racist hatred for him….buh bye! And the principal and school superintendent have realized they screwed up. And someone put it on Youtube, here ya go.

June 5, 2010 Posted by | Racism, Republican Party | | 4 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers