Extreme Liberal's Blog

Where Liberalism Is Alive and Well!

I Was Sexually Assaulted As A Child

Teach Your Children What To Look For And Listen To Them!

I was sexually assaulted by two teenage boys in my neighborhood when I was around 10 years old. The two incidents were independent of each other. I don’t know exactly how old I was or the amount of time that separated the incidents, but based on what I remember, I’m pretty sure I was between 9 – 11 years old when the assaults happened. From what I’ve deduced, the teenagers were both around 4 years older than me.

It was a difficult time in my young life, my father died when I was 6 years old of a heart attack and my mother was a single, working mom — trying to raise 5 boys on her own. I never told my mother about the incidents. If I had, all hell would have broken loose and heads would have rolled. She was absolutely the best mother that ever walked the earth.

The first person I told about these assaults was a girlfriend, I was 20 years old at the time. I’ve since been very open about it and have come to terms with it. I encourage anyone else who has suffered through similar assaults to get it out in the open, talk to people. So much of the pain that people carry around is because they keep it to themselves.

Although there is a difference between my assaults and the ones perpetrated by Jerry Sandusky, there are also similarities. I was manipulated by these older boys in much the same way as the victims of Sandusky. I remember feeling special that these older boys wanted to hang around with me and actually were paying some attention to me. I remember the details of the incidents clearly, but I’m not sure if sharing those details will help anyone, so I will keep it vague. I would surely hate for some pedophile to get off on my descriptions of what happened. They involved oral sex, touching and in one case an attempt at penetration.

I’ll talk about each incident separately.

Greg was an older boy, like I said, approximately 4 years older than me from my recollection. He and I were a part of a group of kids in the neighborhood who decided to raise money for Muscular Dystrophy. We were going door to door trying to collect donations and we also organized a backyard play, a sketch comedy, that we put on for the neighborhood. We charged a nickel to watch. I was dressed up as a girl, with a short skirt, nylons, makeup and a wig. The reaction I got when I came out brought the house down. I remember getting all sorts of attention from everyone. I was a cute little boy and apparently made a pretty cute girl too. I can’t help but think back and wonder if that is the reason why this older boy decided to target me for his assault.

Continue reading

November 20, 2011 Posted by | General | , | 10 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers