Extreme Liberal's Blog

Where Liberalism Is Alive and Well!

Some Beauty To Cleanse The Week With

All photos taken by me personally are free for the taking. If you want a high resolution version of one, just email me at liberalforreal@gmail.com.

Photos by Extreme Liberal

May 6, 2011 Posted by | Photography, Public Domain | 6 Comments

Let’s Play “The Semantic Game” And Damage A Milestone For Our Country!

With the killing of Osama bin Laden, we have entered a new era. It’s been kind of surreal watching what has transpired since Sunday night, when the world was turned on it’s head with the successful operation to take out the most wanted man on the planet, America’s arch enemy, the inspiration for the attacks of 9/11 that caused a chain reaction of stupidity by the Bush Administration. The reaction of people in this country was seen by people in many different ways. There was a lot of cognitive dissonance happening in people’s brains. I certainly had mixed feelings about the celebrations and had to step back and think about why it was happening. My gut feeling was that it wasn’t right, presented a horrible visual for our country and wasn’t going to be received very well in the Muslim world. But that didn’t stop me from being glad that he was gone and proud of our President for getting it done.

As I sat in my bed with my laptop on fire, many of us on Twitter were high-fiving each other and I even went and mixed a drink so I could toast with others who had done the same thing. I rarely drink alcohol, so it was a rare occasion for me. I put up a post in the morning that expressed how I felt and my views on it haven’t changed much as the light of day has emerged on the story.

Some of the harsh critics of President Obama on the left immediately began to get righteous and holier-than-thou with their pronouncements about him being unarmed, saying it was an assassination and recently, Michael Moore has called it an execution. I’ve been calling it what it is, we killed him. It seems to me that the semantic games that some of these critics are playing are just attempts to use words to play on people’s emotions, inflame them, and appeal to their inner pacifists. Yesterday, someone commented that no where in the definition is the word “pacifist”. And I cheered. Although I long considered myself a pacifist and if there are degrees of pacifism, I would say mine has changed over the years as I’ve learned more about the harsh realities of the world we live in. When I hear or see people like Michael Moore with their ideological purity that they expect all of us to have, I find myself thinking how naive they are, how unrealistic they are and really how deluded their thinking is. I frequently say to myself “what would they have him do?”

I highly recommend John Cole’s piece over at Balloon Juice, although I don’t necessarily agree with everything he says. Go read it.

So the silly word games that people like Michael Moore are using and the ideological purity test that he and others keep trying to give us needs to stop. That Osama bin Laden character has spent many years using his charisma and money to bring death and destruction to people all over the world and people like Michael Moore aren’t doing themselves any favors by trying to convince us all that we should have given him all the rights and privileges of every ordinary citizen, except there is one problem, Osama bin Laden was not an ordinary person and you are going to have a hard time convincing us that he was. He’s dead, end of story.

May 6, 2011 Posted by | Politics | | 4 Comments

Jobs, Jobs, Jobs…President Obama Keeps Plugging Away At It!

Here is Steve Benen’s updated chart that shows the stark difference between Bush’s job creation and President Obama’s. Go read his article on it here. H/T to The Maddow Blog…

May 6, 2011 Posted by | Accomplishments, Economy, Jobs, President Barack Obama | 7 Comments

Bragging Rights – Rachel Maddow Reminds Us How Cool Our President Is

As regular readers of my blog know, I’ve posted several times about the accomplishments of our excellent President Obama. As many on the Professional Left seem to see it as their duty to only point out things they don’t like about the man, it’s great to have real journalists like Rachel Maddow who, although she is critical and holds the administration’s feet to the fire, also gives him the credit he deserves and is able to see the big picture – that he has kicked ass in his first 2 and 1/2 years as president. Rachel does another great piece on our president in light of Sunday’s operation that killed Osama bin Laden. Go Rachel…

May 6, 2011 Posted by | 2012 Election, Accomplishments, Politics, President Barack Obama | | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers