Extreme Liberal's Blog

Where Liberalism Is Alive and Well!

One More Example Of Beltway Stupidity – Jon Huntsman And The Kiss Of Death!

Sometimes it just cracks me up how insular the DC media is and how much they can twist things based on their everything-is-related-to-the-next-election mentality. This example includes that, coupled with hatred for Obama (irrational) and presumptions about potential candidates and goes even further to imply that the whole twisted mess is President Obama’s fault. It’s a perfect example of the beltway media creating their own reality and running with it.

President Obama praised Jon Huntsman’s service to the country as ambassador to China upon his leaving and called him an “outstanding advocate for this administration and this country.” Those words on the face seem like a great endorsement for the man, it makes me like him for sure. Which is the problem according to the beltway press, if he is praiseworthy to the liberals, he must be horrible scum to the right-wing, right? By all accounts, Jon Huntsman has a lot of the qualities that make for a good candidate, lots of experience domestically and internationally, he’s handsome and he has money. But of course, he doesn’t quite fit the mold that the tea party republicans have recently modified. From Politico…

Yet Huntsman also has a history of taking moderate positions on the environment, immigration and gay rights. He’s publicly dismissed the importance of Republicans on Capitol Hill. And the Mormon faith he shares with former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney could hamper Huntsman with religious conservatives, much as it did Romney in 2008.

So he already has those strikes against him, and now to have the President of the United States praise you for your service, man, that has to hurt. :) Mark Halperin and a bunch of others call it “The Death Hug.” Ben Smith at Politico points out the one word that maybe put it over the line “If you’re looking for elements of the sabotage-the-moderates strategy, Obama probably didn’t have to use the word “administration.”

Now here is where it starts to get crazy in my opinion. So, because the president chose to praise him in his service, it must have been to throw red meat to the wingnuts and from the looks of it, that is exactly what the president and his people did. To me, that is the funny part of the whole thing. It shows me that the Obama administration is well aware of the hatred for him out in the country with some folks and the divisions within the Republican party that can be exploited. But is that hatred Obama’s fault, from Jonathon Chait’s piece…

But what happens the next time Obama wants a talented Republican like Hunstman to serve in his administration? Does he really want that Republican to contend not only with being attacked by fellow partisans in his next race, but knowing that Obama will be collaborating in the attack? if there is a calculation here, it seems like an awfully short-sighted one.

So the president’s “calculation” of praising a former employee profusely and how a bunch of wingnuts react to it – is somehow short-sighted, because I guess the next time he tries to get a Republican to join his administration, cough, spit, he will have trouble. Hmmmm, because there are sooooo many Republicans out there just dying to be in Obama’s administration. So according to Chait, that miscalculation that might prevent a Republican from joining his administration is sooooo much more important than who the president faces in the next election. Really, Jonathon? The chance that the President of the United States might praise you is enough to keep a Republican from serving a democratic administration, heaven forbid.

The Hunstman team’s response was pretty funny too…

“The president is clearly trying to meddle in the GOP primary because he wants to face the weakest possible opponent,” said a strategist who would be involved in a potential Huntsman campaign. “Trying to kill Huntsman with kindness this stage benefits him. It elevates him and plays right into the electability argument. Plus voters are smart enough to see through this type of tactic.”

So to team Huntsman, there really are not wingnuts in their party, they will see through this type of tactic. So what is all the fuss about?

Lastly, mistermix over at Balloon Juice sums it up better than I can, check it…

This pearl clutching was sparked by Mark Halperin, who thinks that the Obama Administration is exerting a “death hug” by saying that Huntsman was an excellent ambassador to China.

Perhaps Obama is being clever, or perhaps Jon Huntsman was just a good ambassador to China. But even if Obama is playing 11 dimensional chess, why is it his fault that the rump of the Republican party is so nuts that a little well-deserved praise from Obama disqualifies Huntsman as a 2012 contender? I expect that kind of stupidity from Halperin, but Chait should know better than to blame Obama for the insanity of the far right.

The only “collaboration” I see here is Chait’s, because he’s embracing a stupid beltway double-bind that makes as much sense as any other blame-the-victim logic: “Mommy should have realized that Daddy had too much to drink, so it’s her fault that Daddy punched her in the face.”

If the Republican party rejects talented moderates for doing something as uncontroversial as serving as an ambassador, then let that party pay the price by running unelectable clowns like Palin and Huckabee. And don’t concern troll us by calling it “short sighted” for Obama to execute a strategy that will almost guarantee his election in 2012.

(“Scrotum” is the right word, by the way. It’s an insult to a tough, resilient organ like the vagina to compare it to the average New Republic writer.)

I guess with the Tea Party wing of the Republican party playing with the big kids these days, we have to start thinking in “11 dimensional chess” ways these days with the village idiots in the game. Yeee haw!

March 14, 2011 - Posted by | Politics, President Barack Obama |

16 Comments »

  1. The Republicans have sold their souls to their devil’s mental handicap brother, they can no longer seem reasonable to moderate voters because they don’t want to risk a wingnut revolution.

    Dudes like Jon Huntsman would never win a Republican primary because the states he would have to win are fairly in the hands of the loons.Look at Mitt Romney dude went from I’m more liberal than Ted Kennedy on gay rights to adopting the Christian right view on homosexuality just in time for the Republican primary season of 07-08.

    Side note I kept up my war with the firebaggers on Democratic Underground until around Saturday night but it got boring after awhile because they kept spewing the same old notes. And I got accused of being a freeper again and again I asked how defending a Democratic President and his accomplishments makes me a freeper? So I wrapped up by saying if this president goes down in 2012, I will not vote for one Democrat that get any measure of support from Democratic Underground, Firedog Lake, Young Turks and other firebag sites.

    Comment by Johnny C. | March 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Give me links to your fights with the DU(H) people. Maybe they are the new DU Winning! group. Sorry :)

      Comment by ExtremeLiberal | March 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=show_mesg&forum=439&topic_id=600018&mesg_id=642121

    I gotta admit I was a bit nasty but I was pissed off with their bullshit.

    Comment by Johnny C. | March 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Were you the one that had all the deleted comments? :)

      Comment by ExtremeLiberal | March 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=show_mesg&forum=439&topic_id=600018&mesg_id=605728

    I hijack the thread with this post Roberta talked about.

    Comment by Johnny C. | March 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Good work, Johnny. You should give me links to any new attacks and I’ll come over and help you fight the asshats.

      I loved that link that Roberta gave, by the way, and was going to do a post with it but got sidetracked. It happens. :)

      Comment by ExtremeLiberal | March 14, 2011 | Reply

      • Couple of things
        1. I forgot the moderators on that site got a quick trigger finger if they think I’m attacking other posters.

        2.I’m debating rather I’m going back to Firebag Underground. While it’s fun rattling their cages but much like their right wing counterparts they just repeat their same ole bullshit.

        But I’ll give a link when I start another wave of firebag ass kicking.. Be careful tho if you use the term firebag they will accuse you of being another one of my screen name.

        Comment by Johnny C | March 14, 2011 | Reply

      • In their simple little minds there can only be one person in the entire blogosphere who uses firebagger. I think those types, I’ve experienced a few myself, like accusing people of things they aren’t just to piss them off. It’s their little game.

        Maybe Roberta and Grant will team up with us and we can make an all out assault on DU(H).

        Comment by ExtremeLiberal | March 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Jeff and EL, thank you for posting that on their site. I have never been there and after reading your comments, I’m not sure I want to. I will let you do the time. :) I check out with Electablog.com a couple of times a day, he is from Michigan, same as you EL and has some really good info on what Snyder is doing. I am trying to keep up with what is in most of the states. Gives me headaches sometimes. Thanks for the mention.
      Roberta

      Comment by Roberta in MN | March 14, 2011 | Reply

      • That would be epic but DUers can get nasty especially if they think you’re ripping on one of their self appointed lefty leaders. I remember one time I was on DU this was Michael Moore was asking President Obama to pick him as COS.

        I wasn’t even attacking Michael Moore all I said it would be nice if he takes some of his millions and invest in real progressive media and reading some of the comments from people after me they acted like I was attacking him.

        I don’t know where E.L. is in Michigan but I can tell you in the Detroit area market you have two fairly high powered AM right wing talk stations(WJR and NewsTalk 1400) while the lone progressive station in the Detroit area market signal turns into shit when the sun goes down. On top of that we have no local show host on that station the kick in the balls comes on Saturday afternoons when Fox News yes Fox News’ John Gibson has a show on our lone progressive station.

        And the one single local progressive show host we do have comes on a rock station at 11 PM Sunday nights. So yeah a big millionaire liberal could helped out a lot here when it comes to the airwaves.

        Comment by Johnny C | March 14, 2011 | Reply

  4. wow this democratic underground looks terrible. Just a bunch of progressive noise that actually hurts themselves in the end because they just complain and complain that things don’t go their way and their grand solution is not to vote… Gee they deserve whatever they get.

    Comment by Jeff | March 14, 2011 | Reply

    • There are good posters there but they get drowned out by the firebaggers. I agree we should hold President Obama’s feet to the fire when he needs it. But shit these S.O.Bs want to throw him in the fire.

      Comment by Johnny C | March 14, 2011 | Reply

  5. EL,
    I’m for it. I don’t comment much, more a lurker except here and BWD. So my little fingers can do some typing. (smile) Do you think I can stomach some their stuff? I will see. I will go over there in a few minutes and take a look and read.
    R

    Comment by Roberta in MN | March 14, 2011 | Reply

  6. I think it needs to be a coordinated effort, otherwise we could get slaughtered by them and end up as angry as Johnny…Just kidding, Johnny. :)

    I went over and signed up so I can comment. Let’s let the “motorcityliberal” Johnny instigate it first.

    Comment by ExtremeLiberal | March 14, 2011 | Reply

    • I was over there but didn’t if I was on the right site. Democraticunderground.com right?
      I suppose I will have to get a another name to use. Johnny, I wasn’t aware you are the Motorcityliberal. I lurk on your site also.:)
      regular email is roberta at thetexasandersons com

      Comment by Roberta in MN | March 14, 2011 | Reply

      • Thanks for stopping by. It seems like I’m in that small pool of progressive blogs that rather talked about what the Republicans are doing instead of getting dumb ass debates regarding is President Obama is liberal or not.

        As for Firebag Underground I haven’t check it out since earlier today.. I don’t plan in getting pissed off tonight.

        Comment by Johnny C. | March 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

