Extreme Liberal's Blog

Where Liberalism Is Alive and Well!

Did I Mention That Firedoglake Sucks – Like the Suckiest of Sucks!

I was over at FDL earlier today, wondering what kind of anti-Obama horseshit they’ve been peddling lately and a couple of things occurred to me. Janey Hamsher has been quiet for about a week, it took a lot of “previous post” clicking to get to her last one. And the other thing I noticed is that  its “Bradley Manning” all-the-time…your “Bradley Manning unfairly incarcerated headquarters.” I’ve been meaning to write a post about the Manning thing….Wikileaks leaker, military guy who knows how to use a computer. I won’t go too far into my thinking on him because this post is an FDL sucks post and I wouldn’t want to distract from that. My thoughts on Manning are that when you go into the military, you are entering a different world…you sign papers saying you will obey, be loyal to your country, do whatever the hell you are told and if you get out of line, they have their own code of conduct and they take care of things internally. It’s one thing to be a civilian, but it is quite another to be in the military. If you think you can do shit like leak a bunch of military and diplomatic papers and walk away from it without a little punishment, then you are much more stupid than your entry test for the military showed. Now I don’t necessarily like the fact that our military is like that, but it is the reality of how it does work.

So I click over to my favorite blog, Bob Cesca’s Awesome Blog! Go! and he has a post up with a link to Balloon Juice where my second favorite blogger, Angry Black Lady, (and not just because she’s a reader, although that helps :) ) had a post up about none other than Firedoglake. Here is Angry Black Lady’s blog and here is Balloon Juice, go read them. I’m pasting from ABL’s post at Balloon Juice below…

A month ago, I wrote a post about the racism which is festering and beginning to ooze out of the open sore known as Firedoglake. Essentially, my point was that if FDL continues to ban opposing viewpoints in its comment section, it owns the racism contained therein. Soon after that post, I stopped reading FDL because it was doing nothing but raising my blood pressure.Well, last night I took a break from not reading FDL and, like a dumbass, I read FDL. Here’s what I found in a post about restoring the unions and strengthening the labor movement [I’m not linking to that sewer, but you can Google “The Liberal Blogosphere Is A Neoliberal Blogosphere, Unfortunately” and find it your ownself]:

The basic problem is that the Rich ate all the pie. What do you intend to do about it? Snuggle up to their Democratic Party incarnation some more in the hope of getting some crumbs? There used to be a term for that, on the plantations. House N****r.

My jaw dropped when I read that line. My jaw dropped further when I realized it was more than 50 comments later before a commenter decried the use of the term as offensive. My jaw eventually fell right off my face when other commenters began to defend the diarist’s use of the language as “appropriate” and a matter about which the parties could “agree to disagree.”…

I too have noticed the subtle and not-so-subtle racism at FDL, especially in the comments section and I hate to say it, but the commenters at Crooks and Liars are nearly as bad. I sent a complaint to John Amato (C&L) and his reply was less than satisfying to me…he basically said we have all sorts of viewpoints on our site, deal with it. I think he likes clicks about as much as Janey and Arianna do and they all seem to be tapping into the hatred for our President. Please don’t give them clicks, it’s like heroin to them. It’s a shame too, because C&L has some good posters on the site, but the comments have been taken over by trolls and what I like to call the new “litmus-test liberals”. I also think a lot of the commenters on liberal blogs these days are really Republican trolls trying to stir up the pot, they tend to copy and paste Fox News cliché’s and use the same vocabulary as the GOP….it’s pretty easy to spot.

So just to recap, Firedoglake really sucks, if you didn’t already know that.

January 20, 2011 Posted by | Jane Hamsher, Media, Racism | 7 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers