Extreme Liberal's Blog

Where Liberalism Is Alive and Well!

photos of the day

I think I’ve posted this one before, but here it is again…call it an oldie but goodie. Another photo taken on that fall morning I wrote about in the previous photo post.

And this one was taken nearby the one above. I haven’t been back to that spot in many years

Photos by Extreme Liberal

January 3, 2011 Posted by | Photography, Public Domain | 2 Comments

A New Year Of Crazy From Republicans!

Steve Benen, one of my favorite bloggers, found this gem from one of the incoming GOP congressmen. This crop of idiots that was voted in are keeping up the traditions of the GOP, acting like complete idiots and being proud of it. From Benen…

The NYT‘s Deborah Solomon asked West about President Obama’s relationship with the military. The right-wing Republican, a scandal-plagued Army veteran, replied, “I don’t know, you gotta ask guys in the military, but I will tell you this: I think that going in in the middle of the night doesn’t show leadership.”

It led to this exchange:

Solomon: Are you referring to that recent three-hour trip to a base in Afghanistan? He needs to consider his own safety, doesn’t he?

West: Leaders lead by example, and if I’m asking my young men and women to go out there and put their lives on the line, I should be willing and able to do the exact same thing. As I told my soldiers when I was commander in Iraq in 2003, the most expendable person in our battalion was me.

[...]

As a substantive matter, this is incoherent. West is effectively suggesting the commander in chief in a time of two wars is “expendable” and should therefore take unnecessary risks in order to “show leadership.” None of this makes a lick of sense.

But I’m also fascinated by what unhinged conservatives can come up with when it comes to whining about the president. I’ve seen the right launch some pretty odd salvos at President Obama over the last two years — remember when they were apoplectic for a week because Obama urged kids to work hard in school? — but this is a new one.

West isn’t complaining that the president visited U.S. troops in Afghanistan; he’s complaining about the time of day the president’s plane landed.

The level of Republican silliness continues to reach new depths.

January 3, 2011 Posted by | Politics, Republican Party | 19 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers