Extreme Liberal's Blog

Where Liberalism Is Alive and Well!

Do Your Part To Help School Children This Fall!

Guest Blogger – Staci

It’s back to school time here in the Midwest.  Millions of children nationwide will begin their first day without many of the necessities needed to be successful.  I happen to live in the same neighborhood that I attended grade school through high school.  For the past few years, I’ve dropped off a box of school supplies to the grammar school for the kids that are in need.  It is my intention to give a kid a chance and to even out the playing field whether or not somebody in their home couldn’t or wouldn’t provide the tools for them sans the shame that accompanies being the only kid without.  It’s amazing to me the lack of basic supplies in an environment intended for learning.  Here on the south side of Chicago, most kids don’t even get textbooks to take home. Can you imagine that kid that needs just a bit more instruction than can be gathered in the 30 minutes dedicated to a specific subject?

It saddens me knowing the bleak futures that most of these kids face.  The most distressing part is that so many have no idea that there is any world outside of this neighborhood, no aspirations, no dreams beyond the end of the day.  I’ve seen this neighborhood change numerous times over this past 45 years, but I think this is the worse as many of the young adults have given up, too.

Unemployment is at around 30% in the square mile surrounding my block, and it doesn’t get any better as you move throughout the city.  What will happen to these kids?  What will happen to all of us if they have no future?

If there is a school in your area that serves underprivileged kids, please pass along a box of school supplies their way.  It could mean the difference in a kid trying to hang on one more day and just giving up for a lifetime.

Extreme Liberal’s Note:

I second this idea from Staci, my step-daughter teaches in Greenville, Michigan where the main employer of the city, Electrolux, moved to Mexico a few years ago. She buys supplies out of her own pocket….she’s an art teacher, so as you can imagine it’s not just pens and paper. Great idea Staci.

August 4, 2010 - Posted by | Economy |

3 Comments »

  1. Sorry it didn’t get posted yesterday like I said. I forgot to hit one damn button that would actually schedule it. I’m slow sometimes….don’t comment on that Ralph. :)

    Comment by ExtremeLiberal | August 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. I am hurt that you would think I would take a shot.

    I always question why anyone would choose teaching when you have to buy your own supplies, in some districts you fear for your life, and at the drop of a hat you can get accused of improper conduct and left defenseless. I am glad there are people who chose teaching as a career, my daughter is one, but we need more teachers instead of administrators and buses.

    Comment by atlanta ralph | August 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks, Jim. I really don’t think most people realize how dire the situation is. There are lots of kids without the most basic stuff – pens, pencils, paper. I was a single mother, and there were some school years that I was that person trying to figure out how to get my kids what they needed, and it certainly wasn’t because I wanted it that way. Some parents just can’t – for lots of reasons. It’s an incredibly hurtful feeling, for both the parent that can’t provide and the kid that doesn’t have “stuff”. My kids are adults now. I can pitch in, and I sure hope more people join me. School supplies are really, really cheap right now, and you can get lots of stuff for an investment of just $25.

    Comment by staci | August 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

