Extreme Liberal's Blog

Where Liberalism Is Alive and Well!

Should We Believe Halperin and Heilemann?

The duo who loves to go on Morning Joe and feed Joe the beast with insider political gossip are all the rage these days with their new book Game Change. It looks like many in the media are eating it up and spitting it back out. Liz Cheney is appauled at Harry Reid using the word Negro, I’m sure it comes from her deep seated hatred of racism in general, it has to be. I’m not really surprised by what is attributed to Harry Reid, doesn’t surprise me at all. Of course President Obama is going to forgive him for his insensitive comments, that’s our president’s style after all. What fascinates me the most about this particular issue is the reaction from Republicans, it raises that question I think needs to be applied to many issues the media trumpets, “so what?” I wonder what is behind their pushing of this story, is it to show that democrats are racist too, so it’s OK for republicans to be racist?

There are many other comments by others including Bill Clinton that will get a lot of traction too, specifically racially tinged comments when talking to Ted Kennedy. The media is going to pound these stories to death, I just know it. But I want someone to ask “so what?” They will put this all out there to linger, but won’t ever tell us why it is important that we know it. I think all sides of the issues need to stop and think about why they are pushing the story, what difference does it make, why should we care? I guess for those who think we’ve transcended race, it will be a reminder that we haven’t and for those who are racist, they can take comfort in knowing they aren’t the only ones…..see, those liberals are racist too.

Let the republican hypocrisy begin. There is already pushback against the book, which sounds more like a gossip rag than an actual book. Check out these posts on the subject.

Politico

Salon

White Noise Insanity

January 11, 2010 - Posted by | Hypocrisy Watch, Media, MSM, Politics, Racism | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Not sure if they both can believed or not. Now that they’ve put these charges out there it’s up to us to investigate I guess. :-)

    Comment by KayInMaine | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. Some good points on Morning Joe this morning, for a change, I think it was Barnicle who criticized them for including the John and Elizabeth Edwards story, which really goes too far. And I think Bob Woodward pointed out that all sorts of things get said behind the scenes in frustration or whatever, that people don’t really mean. So cherry picking sound bits in the heat of the moment is a little unfair. I’d like to hear some of the crap Halperin says when the cameras aren’t rolling.

    Comment by ExtremeLiberal | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. You wouldn’t believe the things I say when I’m mad when the cameras aren’t rolling! LOL Kidding. Well, okay, if I could speak Italian when I got mad I would be scary. LOL

    Comment by KayInMaine | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  4. :)

    Comment by ExtremeLiberal | January 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

